A Selection of Tanka

Posted: February 23, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags:

1.

ruches of pink

ruffle the setting sun . . .

you look at me

one last time before

saying goodbye

-First published in Atlas Poetica, cusp of dawn – 25 Indian poets, Ed. by Kala Ramesh, November 2014

2.

the breath

of autumn on my cheek

a year later

it feels the same

without you

-First published in red lights, January 2015

3.

a solitary

star burns brighter

than the rest…

the story of my life

in these constellations

-First published in Moonbathing, Issue #11, 2014

4.

a blue sky

bursts into silence…

these aches

feel so familiar now

as I let them go

-First published in Frameless Sky, Issue #1, 2014

5.

a woodpecker

drumming in the woods…

this constant

reminder to chop down

redundancies

-First published in Undertow Tanka Review, Issue #3, 2014

6.

strolling

along the beach…

I ask myself

questions only you

can answer

-First published in Undertow Tanka Review, Issue #3, 2014

7.

winter dusk

exhales a poem…

I do not

sit on monuments

waiting for my muse

– First published in Undertow Tanka Review, Issue #3, 2014

8.

shades of grey

paint thunderstorm clouds…

is it folly

to think that this too

shall pass?

-First published in The Bamboo Hut, 2014

9.

a jaundiced moon

looks down upon me tonight…

when will I

stop comparing myself

to the others?

-First published in A Hundred Gourds, December 2014

10.

under the elm

I count broken promises

by rote…

learning to unlearn

each one of them

-First published in the Undertow Tanka Review, Issue #1, August 2014

11.

rainbow hued kites

dot the sky…

deep inside

a longing bursts forth

in search of him

-Won Third Prize in the DIOGEN Spring Contest, 2014

12.

dreaming

of woodland creatures…

I realize

how futile it is

to grow up

-First published in bottle rockets, Issue #31, August 2014

13.

the place

where you and I

seldom meet

I’ve heard

the grass is greener

-First published in bottle rockets, Issue #31, August 2014

14.

yellowed leaves

rustle under my feet…

losing sight

of myself, I wander

into myself

-First published in red lights, June 2014

Leave a Reply

